Staff Members

Staff Members

NameTitleExt #
Denton Keltner, RPAChief Appraiser5707
Monty Toliver, RPA, RESDeputy Chief Appraiser5701
Terri SegoviaTaxpayer Liaison5718
Brian Peterson, RPASenior Commercial Appraiser5705
Clay Cowan, RPACommercial Appraiser5704
Leslie Dunn, RPACommercial Appraiser5703
Thomas TaylorCommercial Appraiser5727
Haley SmithsonCommercial Appraiser5711
Steve Raines, RPA. RESSenior Residential Appraiser5722
Eric Beesinger, RPAResidential Appraiser5708
Amy OliverResidential Appraiser5728
Rhonda PattersonResidential Appraiser5709
Zach MarstonResidential Appraiser5702
Kelly MorrisSenior Support Technician5710
Becky CroweSupport Technician5706
Wendy KapasSupport Technician5713
Larissa McShanSupport Technician5712
Brittany LatimerSupport Technician5715

A person who engages in appraisal of property for ad valorem tax purposes for an appraisal district must be registered with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations and successfully complete the following courses within 5 years:

  • Within Year 1 – 32 hours in the basics Texas property tax system, and 8 hours in professional ethics.
  • Within Year 3 – 18 hours in the income approach to value, 18 hours in the theory and practice of personal property appraisal, 15 hours in Uniform Standard of Professional Appraisal Practices (USPAP), 24 hours in the theory and practice of appraisal of real property, and Pass the Class III examination.
  • Within Year 5 – 18 hours of analyzing real property appraisal, 16 hours in Property Tax Law, 18 hours in mass appraisal, 7 hours in USPAP, and Pass the Class IV examination.

Upon completion of the above a Registered Professional Appraisal (RPA), a registrant must complete 30 hours of approved continuing education every 2 years which includes:

  • 2 hours in professional ethics, a state laws and rules update course, and 3.5 hours in USPAP.

CHIEF APPRAISER SEVERANCE AGREEMENT

As an at-will employee, EMPLOYEE may be terminated at any time for any reason, so long as it is not an “illegal” reason, such as an unlawful discriminatory reason. In the event of termination without cause, the EMPLOYEE shall be entitled to receive his base pay for twenty weeks’ pay. All benefits, including health insurance premiums and retirement contributions made by EMPLOYER for EMPLOYEE’s benefit will continue during this period and will cease as of the actual termination date.