ARB Members

ARB Members

As defined by Texas Property Tax Code, the local administrative district judge has appointed the following

Appraisal Review Board (ARB):

2023 ARB Members
Rod Tieken
Joe Lemond
Stacie Cook
John Deason
Dawson Druesedow
Paul Harper
Marshall Jeffus
Carol Murray
Jeff Pendley
Russell Reynolds
Glen Spadin
Larry Tegtmeyer
Jonathan Tryer
Jeremy Woodward

The ARB’s Role in the Property Tax System

The appraisal review board (ARB) is the judicial part of the system. The ARB is a separate body from the appraisal office and serves a different function. It hears and resolves disputes over appraisal matters. This is a very broad and important responsibility, but the ARB must be sensitive to its legal and practical limits.

First, the ARB only has authority over matters submitted to it. The ARB has no role in the day to day operations of the appraisal office or in appraising property.

Except where it is deciding a protest, challenge or a correction motion, the ARB has no authority to change a value or correct the appraisal records directly. In a challenge, it must order the chief appraiser to reappraise or correct the records related to the challenge. Only in resolving taxpayer protests can the ARB make changes or set a value on its own. Such a change only affects the property in question.

  We welcome you to serve on the Appraisal Review Board, click here for details and application.

Note: Please note that if you as a taxpayer speak to an ARB member regarding your property that the ARB member will not be able to hear the protest. All calls need to be referred to the Appraisal District to speak to the appraiser in charge of their property or the Chief Appraiser.